A bit of Fall sewing for me

6 Sep

Now that September is here and all the college students at my university have returned to campus, I’ve been bitten by the fall sewing bug. Well, I suppose the sewing bug bites year round in my household.  I have been taking some time and sew myself a few items for the fall.

I made the Lisette Continental Skirt (Simplicity 2059) using fabric from Jay McCarroll’s Habitat line.  This has to be one of favorite fabric lines. This has to be the fifth item I have sewn using a print from Habitat (you’ll see a dress I just finished shortly). The Continental Skirt is a biased-cut skirt which gives it a nice drape.  With are darts at the waist and the asymmetrical seam, I was able to get a flattering fit.

    

The asymmetrical seam gets a bit lost in this print, but you can see it here.

For weekend wear, I made a Wiksten Tova Top using Kaffe Fassett woven check. Last winter, I practically lived in my  wool Tova dress.  I have a feeling I’ll be wearing this top quite often as the cooler weather hits. I wore it this weekend to meet my brand new nephew.

H. took these photos with my phone before we hit the road to meet the baby.

 

8 Responses to “A bit of Fall sewing for me”

  1. Tali September 6, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I love the top, it’s beautiful in this fabric. Is there a way to buy this pattern?

  2. bobble September 6, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Hi Tali! I hope all is well with you. Every once in a while new copies of this pattern will pop on up on the Wiksten website: http://wikstenmade.bigcartel.com/. If you find once, make sure you snatch it up. They are hard to find.

  3. Este September 6, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Love the skirt! I have some of the same fabric in pink/gold – wow the pattern stands out nicely with this skirt.

  4. Shahar September 8, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Love the skirt!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My boy is 4 « Night Knitter - September 22, 2011

    […] used leftover Jay McCaroll fabric for the applique on the birthday hoodie J. has come to expect every […]

  2. wear your style friday: continental skirt | Blog | Lisette - sew your style - December 9, 2011

    […] Jeanne’s beautiful sewing in the Lisette Flickr group or maybe on her blog. She first posted her Continental Skirt in September and photographed it with a short-sleeved […]

  3. Sewing for warmer weather « Night Knitter - February 7, 2012

    […] the Lena Rugged print from Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo line, I made another Lisette Continental Skirt (Simplicity […]

  4. Sewing for warmer weather | Night Knitter - October 28, 2016

    […] the Lena Rugged print from Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo line, I made another Lisette Continental Skirt (Simplicity […]

Leave a comment