Built By Wendy (Simplicity 3835)

3 Apr

Built By Wendy’s Simplicity  pattern #3835 view C sews up so quickly.  This is the second time I have made this shirt; the first being when I was pregnant with J. a few years ago.

For this top, I used Jay McCarrol’s Raise the Roof from his Habitat line. I made two modifications to the pattern this time around. I added an inch to the length, and I left out the elastics at the bottom of the sleeve.  With such a bold- printed fabric, I thought leaving the sleeve with a simple hem would be best.

Until it warms up a bit, I’ll be wearing this top with a cardigan on top.

Actually, the print will become even more subdued with more layers piled on top. This is how I wore it today  today when we dropped off H. for a birthday party. If we get more snow like we did earlier this week, this shirt will be completely hidden under warmer clothes.

5 Responses to “Built By Wendy (Simplicity 3835)”

  1. jay mccarroll April 4, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    looks great! it is so great to see all of the cool things people are making out of HABITAT! happy sewing!

    • bobble April 4, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      Excuse me while I crawl under my desk and slightly scream in excitement! Thank you, Jay, for your amazing designs. I’ve been a huge fan for a while!

  2. Kristin Barrali April 4, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Yes, Jeanne. This dress is amazing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Built By Wendy (Simplicity 3835) for K. « Night Knitter - June 15, 2011

    […] I made this top, K. asked if I would make one for her. Since her birthday is in May, I thought I would make this […]

  2. A bit of Fall sewing for me « Night Knitter - September 6, 2011

    […] Habitat line.  This has to be one of favorite fabric lines. This has to be the fifth item I have sewn using a print from Habitat (you’ll see a dress I just finished shortly). […]

Leave a Reply

