Lisette Market Skirt

6 Mar

With the exciting news that Liesl Gibson from Oliver and S launched an adult line of patterns called Lisette, I couldn’t wait to try one out.  It was hard deciding which one to start with since I want to sew all four of the new patterns.

Since I haven’t sewn many skirts for myself, I started off with the Market Skirt (Simplicity 2211). Using fabric from Jay McCarroll’s new Habitat line, I sewed view A of the pattern with the kick pleats in the front and the back.  The instructions in the Lisette line are just as terrific as the directions in the Oliver and S line.  There are even helpful notes similar to those in the Oliver and S patterns to help guide you along they way.  If you are thinking about sewing this skirt, there are some great tips on the Sew Lisette forum.

I think my favorite part of the skirt is the top stitching around the seams.It give such a nice subtle yet crisp detail to the skirt.  I am thrilled that the same level of detail that I’ve come to expect in the Oliver and S patterns has carried over into Simplicity’s Lisette line.  My plan is to tackle the Traveler Dress next.

A bit more about the fabric: I love Jay McCarroll’s new fabric line.  For this skirt, I chose the City Planning in Teal.  I really like the pixalited look to the pattern. I would love to have just about every print in the Habitat line.  I’m hoping the fabulous local fabric and yarn shop will start carrying it soon.

6 Responses to “Lisette Market Skirt”

  1. Shasta March 6, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    I’ve been dying for someone to post pictures and information about the new Lisette patterns! The skirt looks great on you. I’m happy to hear that the instructions are similar to what we love about O+S. I’m anxiously waiting for my patterns to arrive here in China. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Este March 6, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I have been drooling over the new Habitat line, and loved Jay McCarroll on Project Runway! The skirt is great. I am so glad to see all the Lisette patterns! Great work as usual 🙂

  3. Jen March 6, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Your skirt looks great. I love the fabric you chose. I just picked up the patterns today at JoAnns and I am excited to try them out.

  4. heather jane March 9, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    I am just getting ready to cut this skirt out tonight. I’m glad you posted pictures as I’ve been wanting to see more photos of the patterns on actual people!

    p.s. I followed the link from the forum to find your post. You chose the two things I’m really excited about making…skirt and dress.

  5. Stephanie April 1, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I love that you used that print for the skirt. It looks great.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A bit of Fall sewing for me « Night Knitter - September 6, 2011

    […]  This has to be one of favorite fabric lines. This has to be the fifth item I have sewn using a print from Habitat (you’ll see a dress I just finished shortly). The Continental Skirt is a […]

Leave a Reply

