My boy is 4

22 Sep

My son’s birthday was this week.  It has been the best distraction and a temporary remedy for our broken hearts. We lost our most beloved dog to cancer earlier this week.  After having this wonderful pup for 13 years, it truly does feel like we have lost a member of our family.

  

Back to happier thoughts…I have never seen J. so excited for one of his birthdays.  He helped me every step of the way as we baked, frosted, and decorated cupcakes for his pre-school party.

  

I made him a few things to help him celebrate turing 4.

I used leftover Jay McCaroll fabric for the applique on the birthday hoodie J. has come to expect every year:

  

I knit a toy robot using silver cotton and green metallic yarn.  I used vintage buttons for the eyes.  I was seaming and stuffing this into the wee hours the night before his birthday, so I didn’t get around to making a mouth or adding other embellishments. As soon as J. saw it, he thought I had used yarn from his favorite gray bear to make the robot.  He was very pleased to see that I hadn’t done that.

I also made him some new corduroy pants.  You can see one pair in these photos.  I made another in green wide-whale corduroy.  I used the O + S Bedtime Story PJs pattern.  This is a perfect pants pattern for J. since there are no buttons.  They are also super fast to sew.

A few weeks back on a rainy weekend, my husband invented a new game with the kids called Space Balls.  H. and J. pretend to be a Star Wars character (how they know who the characters are is beyond me since they have never seen any of the movies). My husband takes a soft baseball or small basketball, has the kids run, and throws the ball at them. They think this was the most hilarious thing ever. Being the nervous mother I am, I thought it best to try and make softer balls they could pelt at each other.  The Oliver + S juggling balls pattern from Little Things to Sew seemed like the perfect solution.  Using scrap fabric, I made 6 balls in the smaller size and 6 in the larger size.  H. and my husband helped stuff them.

  

For the bag, I used leftover rocket and City Weekend fabric from J’s bear carrier.  As soon as J. opened these, H. & J. ran upstairs and started pelting each other with these little balls.  Nice to see they are a success!

Overall, I think J. had a pretty awesome 4th birthday.  I know his 4th was great fun for me.

4 Responses to “My boy is 4”

  1. Sam September 22, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Happy birthday to J, and so sorry to learn of your dog’s passing. We lost our dog to cancer a year ago, it truly is a heartbreaking loss. There’s nothing like a dog’s love.

  2. Kristina September 22, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Wow, how time flies. He looks fabulous. Glad it was a fun celebration.

  3. Sarah September 23, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your dog! Our dog is 13 and I worry about the day she goes. My oldest daughter is so close to our dog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall Birthdays « Night Knitter - October 19, 2011

    […] asked them to go through my fabric scrapes and pick out fabric for knitting bags.  The bag for the O+S juggling balls is just perfect pattern for knitting […]

Leave a Reply

