I have a new favorite dress

24 Jan

I have long admired Jenny Gordy’s Wiksten creations, but have never really splurged and purchased anything she has made until last fall.  I bought the Tova Dress/Shirt pattern a bit reluctantly given the price, but all regrets have since flown out the window.

Over the weekend, I made two Tova dresses.  For the first one, I used cotton voile from Anna Maria Horner’s Innocent Crush line.  I think this will be a great spring/summer dress.

With all the snow and the -2 degree weather we had this morning, I wanted to make another dress I could wear during the winter.  I remembered I had purchased 2 yards of black and gray tweed wool a few years back, so I dug that out. I made a winter Tova dress last night, and I think this may be my new favorite dress.  The fabric has tiny flecks of teal and hot pink which don’t come through in the photos.

I think the most challenging part was making sure the corners of the yoke had a nice crisp angle.

I already have fabric picked out for a Tova shirt.  I also wan to try making a short sleeve version of the dress for the summer.

8 Responses to “I have a new favorite dress”

  1. Sarvi January 24, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I’ve been keeping an eagle eye on her blog, waiting for her patterns to be available for sale again — really like her simple, clean style. Your Tova dresses look fantastic.

  2. Sarah January 24, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    OH I’ve never heard of her before…but WOW…that is beautiful! I may have to get one of those. I love it when a handmade item looks designer/boutique.

  3. lauren January 24, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    I LOVE the gray wool version (love the summer one too, but the gray is right up my alley)! I made a tova top, but not yet a dress, and now I think I will make something along these lines. Also, for the comment above, she will be posting some patterns for sale this week (it looks like both the tova top and the summer tank – both are really great patterns).

  4. crista January 25, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Oooh I love it! The grey looks so cozy and stylish!

  5. Mom March 2, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I was able to order the pattern to the Tova shirt a couple of weeks ago, and have just received it last week. So order away- and enjoy! I can’t wait to make this dress.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl Sunday Sewing « Night Knitter - February 7, 2011

    […] I used the Suzanne Citronille pattern and some leftover Anna Maria Horner cotton voile. […]

  2. A bit of Fall sewing for me « Night Knitter - September 6, 2011

    […] a Wiksten Tova Top using Kaffe Fassett woven check. Last winter, I practically lived in my  wool Tova dress.  I have a feeling I’ll be wearing this top quite often as the cooler weather hits. I wore […]

  3. Tova Dress in Soft Corduroy « Night Knitter - October 19, 2012

    […] the fall New England weather.  In fact, this week was a two-Tova-dress kinda week.  I wore my charcoal gray wool Tova earlier this week as […]

Leave a Reply

