14 Responses to “Modified Ice Cream Dress for Me”

  1. Sarvi July 20, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I think I like the version with the wide belt best, especially with leggings, but I can see how it would feel oppressive on a hot day.

  2. Leah July 20, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    This is amazing! I have been enjoying your blog and creations via the Oliver+S Flickr page. I have this same fabric, and I love what you have done with it. It pains me to cut up the Liberty, but this is the perfect way to preserve the amazing print. Great work!

  3. Kitten July 20, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    I love the version without the belt the best and this is a great looking dress translated to an adult size. Fantastic!

  4. Sandi July 21, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    This is so pretty! You look great in it with or without the belt, but I like it best without.

  5. Christie July 21, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    oh, your dress looks fantastic & I think I like it without a belt best.

    i think I will have to try & make one of these for me too, but just to double check, did you alter the yolk piece at all?

  6. anne July 21, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    LOVE LOVE this! Do you mind sharing what size you normally wear? I’m a size 4 dress and don’t know if the kids 12 would fit?? Beautiful work!

    • bobble July 21, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Hi Anne,

      I am pretty petite and am almost too embarrassed to post publicly that I normally wear a 0 or 2. I didn’t have to make any adjustments to the yoke, but I think it is do-able. I would suggest tracing the pattern, making the needed adjustments, and then sewing a version using some muslin.

      Burda Style has a tutorial here on how to make pattern adjustments: http://www.burdastyle.com/techniques/make-a-pattern-larger-or-smaller

      Hope you try it out!

  7. Florence July 25, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    It’s gorgeous. I definitely prefer it without the belt.

    I love the fabric that you’ve chosen. Off to look at the Ice-cream Social link for more inspiration.

    Florence x

  8. cate July 26, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    this is really so lovely! i have been eyeing that fabric for a while, too, and you did such an amazing job with it. it adds a little urban-ness to this dress and makes it feel more sophisticated.

    may i ask why you left off the pockets? (thanks for the burda link, just what i need!)

    • bobble July 26, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      Hi Cate,

      I love pockets and had every intention of adding them to the dress, but I wanted the flexibility to be able to wear a belt with the dress. I felt the pockets wouldn’t look that great with a cinched waist. I think the bottom of the dress wouldn’t flow quite as nicely with the pockets and a belt.

      If I was only planning to wear the dress without the belt, I would totally have added the pockets.

  9. Amber July 28, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    OMG, this is so cute!!

  10. Anna July 30, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    this is just awesome, great job. The fabric is super cool.
    🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simplicity 2147 « Night Knitter - August 16, 2011

    […] I picked up two yards of batik from JoAnn’s earlier in the summer not quite sure what I was going to make with it.  I was drawn to Simplicity 2147 since the silhouette is so similar to the Ice Cream Dress. […]

  2. Free Fabric Friday and Jump Rope Dress Sew-Along | Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog | - June 1, 2013

    […] S expert!  She has made gorgeous versions of the just about all the patterns (including a modified Ice Cream Dress for herself–you see, it can be done!).  If you’re in Boston, Jeanne is teaching a real-life Oliver […]

Leave a comment