Simplicity 2147

16 Aug

I picked up two yards of batik from JoAnn’s earlier in the summer not quite sure what I was going to make with it.  I was drawn to Simplicity 2147 since the silhouette is so similar to the Ice Cream Dress.

I like the way the yoke turned out. I cut the fabric going against the grain since I like the richness of the navy blue in the print. The bodice in the front and the back has pleats. I’m not crazy about the pleats since it gives the chest a fullness I could do without.  I pressed the pleats down a bit more to take out some of the volume.

It isn’t so bad with a belt (minus the unflattering gathers in the front) or with a cardigan on top.

I suppose if I had more patience I would try to alter the pattern to get the fit I am looking for, but I’m not that patient.

3 Responses to “Simplicity 2147”

  1. Camille August 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    I think it’s super cute. That fabric is a perfect choice.

  2. Alexa Gibson April 17, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    I know what you mean about the pleats but I topstitched over the pleat for about 2″ and that has kept them looking crisp and flat and added a bit of detail too.

  3. Jennifer October 30, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I can totally understand sewing disappointments but I don’t think you should categorize this dress as one! I think it looks great with the belt.

Leave a Reply

