Ice Cream Dress (View B)

6 Apr

The new Oliver and S patterns are out!  YAY!

I made H. the Ice Cream Dress (View B) using cotton voile from Anna Maria Horner’s Little Folks line. The vintage button is from my husband’s grandmother.

I love the way the dress turned out, but I wish I would have used a different patterned fabric for the middle panel.  I think the bold flowers are a distraction.

H. loves it and was a bit disappointed she couldn’t wear it to school today.  Luckily, I started another Ice Cream dress for her last night using school colors.

11 Responses to “Ice Cream Dress (View B)”

  1. Amber April 6, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Super cute! And really, you have the most adorable little girl. 🙂

    • bobble April 6, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks, Amber. She is a sweetheart.

  2. Sara April 6, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    very cute!!

    i have this idea in my head to try to adapt the largest size to a small womens size. having seen the dress in person, do you think it would work for a grownup as well?

    • bobble April 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      I was thinking of making the shirt version (view 3) in the largest size for me. You should take a look at the measurements on the back of the pattern. The pattern is easy enough that you could also make your own modifications.

  3. Crista April 6, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Oh I love those colours on her!

  4. Lisa April 6, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    That is such a cute dress. I have my eye on that pattern, so glad you made one so quickly. Love that AMH fabric too.

  5. mel April 6, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Oh my… just adorable!!

    • natalie @ our old southern house April 25, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

      I just got this pattern in the mail yesterday. I CAN’T WAIT to sew this. I’m so glad I found your blog and saw your pics!

  6. cate July 15, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    this is gorgeous. period. i have been thinking about how exactly to make this version of the ice cream dress as my sew along for the ice cream social, and you have totally inspired me. thank you so much for making sense of view B (or is it A). xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Scarves « Night Knitter - June 25, 2010

    […] some leftover fabric from this dress, I made the scarf below for my daughter’s teacher.  I must admit, it looked better on before […]

  2. Modified Ice Cream Dress for Me « Night Knitter - July 20, 2010

    […] @ 6:57 am Tags: ice cream dress, Ice Cream Social, Liberty of London, oliver and s H. has all three versions of the Oliver and S Ice Cream Dress.  I’ve been wanting to make one for me for […]

Leave a Reply

