I can’t stop sewing uniforms

24 Aug

I think I have a problem.  I can’t seem to stop sewing school uniforms for my daughter.  Is there a 12 step program for this I should consider joining?  Since I acquired a new sewing machine this weekend, I just had to sew a few more.

The Birthday Party Dress has always been one of my favorites both as a uniform and in a print.

   

I used polka dotted fabric for the button tabs and the front, back, and hem facings.

   

Last year, I made H. the Eliette Jumper by the French company Citronille.  I think it was the only uniform I made for her last year in khaki.  She wore it twice before ripping a huge hole right in the middle of her dress.  I made her another one using thin-whaled corduroy.

     

I have resolved that I am done sewing khaki skirts and jumpers for the rest of the year.  H. is still able to fit into many of the blue uniforms I made her when she was 4 and 5, but those are now being retired and have found adequate replacements. Hopefully, she will be able to continue to wear them as tunics as she gets taller.

One Response to “I can’t stop sewing uniforms”

  1. Johanna Jimenez September 27, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    wow!!! really nice job! I love it!

    http://www.madebymami.com

Leave a comment