Citronille Eliette Jumper

3 Aug

I think it was my friend Este who first sent me the link to the French Citronille site a few months ago.  The patterns are adorable as are the illustrations.  I recently purchased a few patterns along with a book.  I haven’t really studied French since the early days of graduate school, so I was a bit hesitant.  But the patterns are written pretty clearly, so it was easy enough for me to make out the directions.  The illustrations were helpful as well. I would say it was much easier than sewing from some of the Japanese patterns I have.

I started off with a simple jumper to ease myself into the realm of French sewing and tried the Eliette Jumper.  All of Citronille patterns for children seem to be for even ages (2, 4, 6 and up through 12).  The seam allowances are included in the pattern, so that cut down some time as I was tracing the pattern pieces. All in all, this took me two nights of sewing: a hour to trace and cut the pattern and cut the fabric, and about 2.5 hours of sewing (with a few interruptions from children refusing to go to sleep).

I made H. a jumper she could wear as a school uniform in size 6 using some thin-whaled corduroy.  I used a bright blue zipper and matching blue thread for the top stitching to add a bit of color. 

I also added some top stitching to the inside of the pleat folds to help keep them in place.

And, yes, H. is sporting her new bob!

5 Responses to “Citronille Eliette Jumper”

  1. molly:: applecyder August 3, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE! But you already knew that. Thanks for the info on these gorgeous patterns.

  2. larissa August 3, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    and it makes her look very Parisian indeed alongside her French jumper. Great job.

  3. Jill August 3, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    I am loving the bright blue zipper with an already adorable dress. What a perfect touch.

  4. este August 4, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    ooh lovely! i especially like the zipper and the punch of color there… seeing your work always inspires me, I may just try one of these myself! Oui!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I can’t stop sewing uniforms « Night Knitter - August 24, 2011

    […] Last year, I made H. the Eliette Jumper by the French company Citronille.  I think it was the only uniform I made for her last year in khaki.  She wore it twice before ripping a huge hole right in the middle of her dress.  I made her another one using thin-whaled corduroy. […]

Leave a Reply

