More School Uniforms

7 Aug

This is one of the few weekends this summer where we don’t have any plans.  I took advantage of that and sewed a few more uniforms for H. once the kids were in bed.  Now that H. has an ample supply of skirts for the upcoming school year, I started working on a few jumpers.

To sneak in a bit of color, I have been hitting my scrape drawer to find some colorful prints to use for the facing.

I’ll start with my favorite of jumper in the bunch–view B of Oliver + S’s Music Box Jumper.  H. loved the one I made for her last fall and still wears it today. For the one I made Friday night, I used a khaki window pane fabric and roundabout dots from Modern Workshop.

  

   

For view A of the Music Box Jumper, I used cotton sateen.

  

H. picked out some leftover Amy Butler for the facing.

 

H. has to wear the uniform polo under her jumpers, so I made the Seashore Sundress in size 7 to accommodate the shirt.  The dress should also last her throughout the school year, I hope!

For the facing and the pocket lining, I used more leftover fabric from O + S’s Modern Workshop.

   

H. prefers to wear jumpers and dresses opposed to skirts and pants. I have two more jumpers in my uniform sewing queue. Since school doesn’t start until after Labor Day, I’m taking a short break from uniform sewing.  I need some time away from the color khaki.

4 Responses to “More School Uniforms”

  1. Este August 9, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Khaki never looked so good 🙂

  2. cate August 10, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    these are goooooorgeous! gorgeous! i love the secret brightness and uniqueness of the linings.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to oliver + s > summer sewing - August 9, 2011

    […] at NightKnitter is busy making school uniforms for her daughter. She’s included little surprises in these […]

  2. school uniforms - SCHOOL GUIDE 2011 – SCHOOL GUIDE 2011 - August 12, 2011

    […] More School Uniforms « Night KnitterDescription : I took advantage of that and sewed a few more uniforms for H. once the kids were in bed. Now that H. has an ample supply of skirts for the upcoming school year, I started working on a few jumpers. …http://nightknitter.wordpress. .. […]

Leave a comment