Seashore Sundress and Family Reunion Dress

14 Apr

Every time I get a new Oliver and S pattern, I feel like I am getting my own personal sewing instructor wrapped up inside every pattern.  With the new spring and summer patterns, I learned a few more tips and tricks to add to my sewing toolkit.

The last time H. and I went into JP Knit and Stitch, she pulled out a bolt of fabric by Kaffe Fassett.  H. seems to be really drawn to his fabrics since she picked out Pandora Ombre Red by Kaffe Fassett when we were at Spool.  I haven’t found the perfect pattern to go with this, um, rather colorful fabric, but for the Shawl print she choose at JP Knit and Stitch, I thought the Seashore Sundress pattern would work well.

The Seashore Sundress echos the Tea Party Sundress (my first Oliver and S pattern).  I love the subtle v at the front of the Seashore Sundress which makes it almost have a slight sweetheart neckline.

For the facing, I used left over fabric by Heather Bailey.  The buttons are from my vintage button collection given to me by my husband’s grandmother.

I used the last bit of my Modern Workshop Pink Lemonade pack to make the Family Reunion Dress. The level of detail in this dress is astounding. I think I could have done a better job with the pin tucks, but overall I am please with how it turned out. If I were to make it again, I would edge stitch the front button area.

I didn’t have four small buttons for the front the dress, so I dug through my vintage button box and found four well-worn buttons that were all about the same size.

Even though I had enough fabric for the hem facing, I decided to use some leftover City Weekend just for kicks.

When you try this pattern, see if you can find the hidden message on the pattern pieces.

4 Responses to “Seashore Sundress and Family Reunion Dress”

  1. Camille April 14, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I love the Family Reunion dress. My DD is right at the size cut-off so I bought the large sizes so I could use it longer, and can’t WAIT for her to get a little bigger. On second thought, I may just make one anyway!!

  2. mel April 14, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Hidden message? Fun! I didn’t see anything on my pattern. Will look again! Or is it only on the larger size??

    • Johanna Olson April 15, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      Now I’m going to go look. I’m curious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 7, 2011

    […] the facing and the pocket lining, I used more leftover fabric from O + S’s Modern […]

Leave a Reply

