Back to School Skirt Sewing

4 Aug

With the new school year quickly approaching, I have embarked on my annual marathon of back-to-school sewing.  For the past two years, I have felt pretty fortunate that H.’s school has a pretty flexible uniform policy.  I fear this year the school’s governing board decided to abandon their loosey–goosey uniform policy in favor of a stricter one. Now, students are required to wear a polo with the school logo and khaki bottoms.  I have written before on my disdain for the color khaki, so I was less than enthusiastic with school’s decision to make khaki a mandatory part of the uniform (don’t even get me started on the cotton/poly polo we are now required to purchase).

I’m trying to make the best of it by sewing some Oliver + S patterns in khaki.  I finished a round of skirt sewing earlier this week.

I started with my favorite skirt pattern, the Hop Scotch skirt, using Kona cotton and Japanese-imported buttons.

    

I made H. the 2+2  Skirt using the rest of the Kona cotton I had.  I know it is a bit big on her.  That was intentional. I made this in a 7, so she could wear it later in the year. I used polka-dotted fabric for the button placket since it is hidden when worn, but I forgot to snap a photo.  Can you tell H. wasn’t being very cooperative last night when I took these pictures?

For the Music Class Skirt, I used cotton twill and topstitched the skirt with ecru thread to add a wee bit of contrast (that and I ran out of khaki thread).

    

Here is my wildcard…I love the softness of Moda’s French General fabric. I’m hoping H. can get away with the stripes.  For the Lazy Days Skirt, I added blue piping at the hem.

   

 

And what does H. think about this new uniform policy?  I think the expression on her face here says it all.

 

4 Responses to “Back to School Skirt Sewing”

  1. cindy August 4, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    I think my expression would be similar! I hope she can get away with the stripe as it’s a lot nicer than plain ol’ khaki.

  2. Melanie August 4, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I think the music class skirt looks very smart! You did a good job adding charm to the mix. But I hear you about the polyesther! I took my rising kindergartener to the recommended uniform shop and asked the saleswoman for cotton shirts. She looks down her nose at me and says “oh I don’t think you’ll be able to find that!”

  3. SarahB August 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Love the expressions! I’m doing some very similar sewing and it is making me want to scream! The school is new and I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to get away with, so I’m being cautious for now, but all the tan twill is making me want to scream! We are allowed navy too, but apparently it’s impossible to find fabric that is machine dry-able, and I doubt I’ll remember to pull them out of the washer and air dry them all year long. No photos so far, but soon I’ll post some on my blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 7, 2011

    […] sewed a few more uniforms for H. once the kids were in bed.  Now that H. has an ample supply of skirts for the upcoming school year, I started working on a few […]

Leave a Reply

