Ready for a New School Year

12 Sep

View B of the new Oliver and S Music Box Jumper was a easy to tackle this weekend. This version of the pattern has an adorable inverted box pleat and two decorative front flaps.

To help celebrate the arrival of fall, I used an acorn print by Joel Dewberry, 2 vintage buttons for the front flaps, and 5 navy buttons  for the back closure (the pattern calls for 6 buttons, but I only had 5 on hand, so I will add the sixth button hole and button when I get a chance to get another matching button).

For the front facing yoke, I used some leftover Moda fabric.

J. also has another addition to his fall wardrobe.  I finished a pair of Sandbox Pants using leftover chambray and contrasting green top stitching.

For the waistband, the pocket linings, and ties, I used leftover Amy Butler fabric.

I have discovered the key to getting J. to be willing to wear the clothes I make is to let him pick out the buttons.  For these pants, he picked out tractor buttons.

I never thought I would cross over into the realm of cutesy buttons, but here I am!

6 Responses to “Ready for a New School Year”

  1. Jeannine September 12, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Love the dress and the pants. I cannot wait to find the time to make this one. Perfect for all seasons.

  2. madebymum September 13, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    Thanks for showing the new oliver and s dress it is so cute and the trousers are fab.

  3. mel September 13, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Bah! Go with the buttons if they work – and they do, the pants are cute!

    The dress is awesome! Wish I would’ve just ordered my patterns straight from Oliver and S. I hate waiting!!

  4. Kathode Ray Tube September 13, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Love them both! H. will be best-dressed kindergartener!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September Birthdays « Night Knitter - September 24, 2010

    […] For I, I made her an Oliver and S Hopscotch Skirt using Joel Dewberry fabric.  H. was pretty psyched since it was the same fabric I used for her Music Box Jumper. […]

  2. More School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 7, 2011

    […] in the bunch–view B of Oliver + S’s Music Box Jumper.  H. loved the one I made for her last fall and still wears it today. For the one I made Friday night, I used a khaki window pane fabric and […]

Leave a Reply

