August Birthdays

11 Aug

My sister and one of my sisters-in-law have birthdays this month, so I have been sewing and knitting a few items to include in their birthday packages.

I made another Heather Ross Everything Tote using decor -weight fabric from Alexander Henry’s Copenhagen.  I love this print since it reminds me of something I would find by Marimekko. I picked this up at JP Knit and Stitch earlier in the summer and think I need get a bit more.  For the lining, I used a print from Anna Maria Horner’s Chocolate Lollipop from my stash.

   

With the extra fabric, I made a little weekend travel bag. I know the zipper and the lining don’t really match, but I used what I had in the house.  I still think it works together.

   

I also knit another pair of Fetching Wrist Warmers in cream using one ball of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran.

  

For my sister, I sewed a Wiksten Tank Top in cotton voile from AMH’s Innocent Crush.

You can’t really tell in this photo, but the top has such a nice drape in the voile.  I’m tempted to make one for myself.  I suppose it is a good thing my sister and I live almost two thousand miles away from each other, so we wouldn’t have to worry about being seen together wearing the same top.  Oh, the horror!

After seeing Genevieve’s adorable bag after I finished teaching my sewing class last week, I was inspired to make not only one but two reversible bags using this pattern.

I added two pockets on the inside and used fabric from Aneela Hoey’s Sherbert Pips for the lining.

  

For the other bag, I used decor-weight fabric by Ty Pennington.

I let H. and J. pick out the lining from my stash.  They unanimously chose Lotus Full Moon Polka Dot by Amy Butler. 

 

   

I didn’t check the test square until I had already cut out fabric for two bags (tisk tisk).  My print out was about a inch smaller than it should have been.  Sewing with smaller seam allowances didn’t remedy the matter either.  I went ahead and sewed the two reversible bags. One will go to my sister and the other will go in my gift pile.

I want to make a larger one, so I’ll be adding that to my ever growing sewing queue.

 

Leave a comment