Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants

15 Aug

The Fall and Winter Oliver + S patterns have just been announced.

Earlier this summer, I was lucky enough to test out the After-School Shirt + Pants pattern.

I love the simplicity of the pattern, and the button detail on the front and back yoke of the shirt are such a nice accent.

  

I had a tough time deciding on fabric for the shirt, so I made two. For the one above I used the tree swing print from Sherbet Pips by Aneela Hoey.

I made another one using Sketched Branches in the Citron Yellow from O + S’s Modern Workshop.

  

I used red vintage buttons from my husband’s grandmother. I made this a size larger, so H. can wear it next year.

    

I tried to make the pants unisex hoping they can be handed down to J. For the pants, I used striped fabric from French General.

Instead of using a contrast fabric for the side hem, I played with the stripes and made the inside of the pockets, the back pockets and  the bottom side panel with the stripes going horizontally. Even with the stripes, I’m hoping these pants can be worn as part of H.’s school uniform.

   

My favorite part of the pants are the subtle point at the back yoke and the side panels. There is so much room to play around with adding different fabrics. You can also add ruffles to the pants to add a bit of girly detail.

Hope you have as much fun as I did sewing up this pieces.

3 Responses to “Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants”

  1. Emily September 12, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I was inspired by your pants to sew a version for my daughter in a green ticking stripe – thank you for the wonderful idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January Sewing Projects « Night Knitter - February 1, 2012

    […] dresses and skirts, but she does wear pants when she has P.E. at school.  I made her one pair of uniform pants over the summer to be worn on gym days, but this term, H. has P.E. twice a week.  She requested […]

  2. Badminton Top and Skort « Night Knitter - April 22, 2012

    […] Skort.  Since I didn’t have enough yardage to make the skort, I used some leftover from this top for the hem facing and the […]

Leave a Reply

