One Can Never Have Too Many Bags

27 Jun

I am not one who likes to pack and re-pack bags, so I tend to have a bag for just about every activity.  I have my work bag, knitting bag, sewing bag, bike bag, ice skating bag, kids’ bags, lunch bag, shopping bags, various purses, and the list goes on.

We don’t seem to have a great beach or pool bag to hold all of our towels and such, so I made the Everything Tote from Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing.

Please ignore my poor posture in the photo (EIK, why didn’t my daughter remind to stand up straight before she took the photo? Right, that is my job).

The pattern has a misprint and says it requires a half a yard for the main fabric and another half a yard for the lining.  In actuality, you need at least a yard to yard and a half of each fabric.

I used fabric from Ty Pennington home decor collection for the outside of the bag, and Heath by Alexander Henry for the lining.  You can’t see it in these photos, but the other side of the bag is light and dark gray.  I wanted to keep the chartreuse one one side of the bag.

 

  

I modified the inner pocket to make it fully lined by cutting two pockets, sewing them together and turning them right side out before attaching it to the lining.  Out of this, I made two pockets; one large enough for my phone, and another for my wallet.  They can also hold various sized kids’ goggles as you see here.

This bag was so easy and quick to make that I ended up making four this weekend.

I made two out of denim.  Why I had this much denim hiding under my guest bed, I do not know.  I realized that my lowly machine does not handle thick fabric very well even with a walking foot. I think this will be the last time I torture my machine (and myself) with think denim.

Here are the linings for each of the denim bags.

  

 

My favorite out of the bags is this one.

 

I used canvas from Nani Iro’s 2010 Poster Fleur collection and fabric by Michele D’Amore for the lining.

 

  

I can’t wait to start using this bag, but until I can think of a good use for it, it will be on display over at JP Knit and Stitch.

7 Responses to “One Can Never Have Too Many Bags”

  1. Carolyn June 28, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Oh, I love bags too and that looks like the perfect bag for the beach! And I love the striped green lining!

  2. crista June 28, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    These are AMAZING! I love the first one and the last one! WOW!

  3. Heather July 7, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    LOVE the first and last bags! I had a sewing lesson with my mom last week and now have curtains, a bunch of throw pillow covers, seersucker napkins, and two gifts on my to-sew list. Wish me luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Showering Baby « Night Knitter - July 25, 2011

    […] her belated birthday present which included a pair of gray wrist warmers and one of the Everything Tote Bags I made. I have given all of the extra ones I made, so I suppose I should start sewing a few more. […]

  2. Pinwheel Shirt and Skirt « Night Knitter - August 3, 2011

    […] used pinwheel print from Erin McMorris’s Summersault and leftover fabric by Michele […]

  3. August Birthdays « Night Knitter - August 11, 2011

    […] made another Heather Ross Everything Tote using decor -weight fabric from Alexander Henry’s Copenhagen.  I love this print since it […]

  4. Cynthia Rowley – Simplicity 2215 « Night Knitter - November 21, 2011

    […] is sewn to the zipper, so the pocket sits right in front.  For the pocket lining, I used some leftover gray fabric.  I love this color […]

Leave a Reply

