Sewing School Uniforms

22 Aug

H. and J. go back to school after Labor Day.  I’ve slowly been sewing school uniforms these past few weeks.  J. will be starting kindergarten in September, so I have two sets of uniforms to crank out for the upcoming school year. Luckily, I think H. still fits in some of the uniforms I made for her last school year.  I guess I’ll find out soon enough once she actually starts back to school in a few weeks. For now, I think these newly sewn uniforms will get her through the early part of the school year.

As in previous years, I used O + S patterns and yards and yards of  khaki twill, corduroy, quilting cotton, and broadcloth to make this year’s school uniforms.

Here is the run down.

Using Kona cotton and a left over polka dot print, I made a reversible Hula Hoop Skirt:

  

This Sunday Brunch Skirt has a pop of contrast with navy blue top stitching.  Unfortunately, the striped t-shirt with the sequined lightening bolt is not part of her school uniform.  It totally should be if you ask me.

   

For this Music Class Skirt, I used robin eggs blue for the top stitching.

  

One of my favorite patterns I like to use for school uniforms is the  Music Box Jumper (view B).  I used a green polka dot print for the facing and underside of the front flaps.

      

Since J. still doesn’t like buttons, I made him a few pairs of buttonless pants. I used some scrape fabric for the waistbands and pocket linings for a bit of fun.

I sewed three pairs Sandbox Pants without the drawstring.

For one pair of pants, I used light blue thread for the top stitching.  I also added buttons to the back pockets on one pair.  J. picked these out.

 

For all of the Sandbox pants, I lined the pockets and choose fun prints for the waistband.

I also made two pairs of Bedtime Story PJ Pants without the bound hems.

 

 

 

How is your back-to-school sewing progressing?

8 Responses to “Sewing School Uniforms”

  1. Carolyn August 22, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    these are all super cute!!

  2. sarah August 22, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    thanks for posting the uniforms again this year. I’m a year away from having uniforms to sew, and your site is full of great ideas.

  3. crista August 22, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    J wearing uniform…..so big and the pants look great!

  4. Katy August 22, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    This is my first year of having to sew for school uniform. I am planning Sunday Brunch skirts for my first sewing session. Our uniform is grey and I don’t think i can get away with contrast topstitching like you have done or I would so be copying. It looks great! Summer uniform is a blue gingham dress and I have the Jumprope pattern ready for that.

  5. kristin August 23, 2012 at 2:17 am #

    i’ve always been inspired by your uniform sewing and even sent links to your music box jumpers to my daughter’s principal to see if they’d work (she’s starting Pre-K), but they’re so strict I need to copy the Dennis uniform jumper EXACTLY! ugh. I’m making a couple 2+2 skirts though, those had better be allowed or i’ll be very upset. :/

  6. MadeByMeg August 27, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    oh these are great! those details make the uniforms so much more fun and personalized!

  7. aprilshowers September 5, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Love them! I made a non-uniform Hula Hoop skirt a few weeks ago and thought it would make a great uniform. We’re allowed either navy or khaki on the bottom so I thought I could do one each side so she got twice as much wear out of one piece of clothing. But I like your idea of making the skirt so she can wear it for school or play.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. School Uniform Round-Up | Blog | Oliver + S - September 16, 2014

    […] up, Jeanne has sewn many Oliver + S school uniforms over the years. Here is a Hula Hoop Skirt she […]

Leave a comment