Reversible Anna Wrap Dress

4 Apr

My daughter’s school will be implementing a stricter uniform policy in the fall.  Gone are the days of having a lovely dress code where I could send her to school in anything navy, light blue, white, or khaki.  I thoroughly enjoyed making her clothes meet these color requirements.  Since I am not a huge fan of khaki, her school wardrobe is filled with various shades of blue.

Come fall, she will be required to wear a store-bought navy polo shirt with the school’s logo coupled a khaki-colored jumpers, skirts, or pants.  Since H. doesn’t like to wear pants, I’ll be adding a slew of khaki jumpers and skirts over the next few months. I’ve been thinking of revisiting some of my favorite children’s sewing patterns to help me tackle this challenge.

Over the weekend, I pulled out my Farbenmix Anna Wrap Dress pattern.  Using some cotton sateen from JoAnn’s and some fabric by Michael Miller, I made H. this reversible apron dress.  She can wear this side to school.

During the weekend, she can wear this side which was made using fabric by Robert Kaufman.

I made this in  134/140 cm, so it is still pretty big on H.  I’m sure she will do quite a bit of growing this summer, so I have tucked it away in the back of her closet for now.  She still has two other apron dresses–one for school and one for the weekend— that still fit her for now.

2 Responses to “Reversible Anna Wrap Dress”

  1. Virginia April 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Beautiful! I’ve never seen that pattern. It’s brilliant! Lovely choices of fabric.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sewing School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 22, 2012

    […] Kona cotton and a left over polka dot print, I made a reversible Hula Hoop […]

Leave a Reply

