Recap of 2012 Holiday Knitting and Sewing Extraganza

3 Jan

Happy 2013.  My apologies for being a neglectful blogger these past two months.  Now that my marathon of sample sewing, holiday crafting, end of semester craziness and winter vacation all behind me, I can finally share with you some of the things I’ve been sewing and knitting.

This holiday season, I made cowls for almost every woman in my life (or so it seemed).  This photo shows most of the cowls I made.  I’ve lost count, but I believe I made a total of 9 cowls.

Stack of Cowls

I made two more Avery Cowls using Osprey yarn in peacock and rosa rugosa.

Avery Cowl

I made a number of long Honey Cowls in Madelinetosh Vintage.  I used skeins of  Malachite, Baltic, Filagree, and  Earl Gray.    Long Honey Cowls

I also made a simple ribbed cowl using two skeins of Manos from my stash.  This one has yet to find a home, so it goes into my gift stash.

I’ve been wanting to try knitting Brooklyn Tweed’s Shelter and was thrilled to see the new Wiksten Snöflinga Hat pattern suggested using this yarn. These adorable hats knit up extremely quickly.  I made these four using Hayloft, Snowbound, Sweatshirt, and Pumpernickle.  I kept one, H. snagged one, and the other two were given as gifts.

Using balls of Mission Falls 1824 Wool from my stash, I knit three of these hats. And of course, a holiday season  cannot go by without knitting a few Fetching Wrist Warmers.  I made 3 pairs to give away as gifts.  Holiday shipping deadlines crept up on me.  I was literally casting off, blocking, and throwing them into boxes even before they were fully dried.  Needless to say, who had time to take photos? Like many of my knitting projects, I fear most of the gifts I sewed were neglectfully undocumented.  Most of my sewing projects consisted of making Have it All Wallets.  I made a dozen of these to give away to teachers and friends.  Some were already shipped off before I could take photos.

There were a few tote bags sewn as well as an Oliver + S Hula Hoop skirt for my niece.  There may be a few other items I have forgotten to include here.  I’m grateful I was able to finish all my holiday projects in time!

One Response to “Recap of 2012 Holiday Knitting and Sewing Extraganza”

  1. kristin January 5, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Woah you were a knitting machine! Gorgeous creations, and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

