Straight Stitch Society’s Latest Patterns

14 Nov

Just in time for holiday sewing, Straight Stitch Society has released two new patterns.  Like the first set of patterns, these two are great way to transform fabric scrapes into functional and adorable goods.

The Keep Your Cool Smart Phone Case is a fun way to keep your phone, keys, and subway card all in one handy case.  There is a hidden pocket inside the case small enough to hold a library card or even a few dollars. I made view 1 with scrapes from my fabric drawer.  H. quickly claimed this as her own and uses it to house one of our old iPhones she uses as a music player.  Since the case has hidden pocket inside, she stashes her library card in the case.  I added a clip at the end, so she can attach it to a belt loop or her back pack.

Views 2 and 3 are just as adorable.

Keep you cool smartphone case

Image from Straight Stitch Society

The Have It All Wallet pattern lives up to its name.  Since there are so many pockets, I bought mine on a recent trip, and it held everything from my passport, bank card, phone, pesos, and lip balm. I was too busy enjoying myself that I forgot to snap a photo.

For view 2, I used fabric from Oliver + S’s The Ladies’ Stitching Club collection and a polka dot print from Robert Kaufman.  I opted to add the bow to this view.

 

I made an organic cotton version using prints from Cloud 9.

  

For view 1, I used prints from two of my fabric collections: Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo and Oliver + S’s Modern Workshop.

   

You’ll be seeing more of these since I have quite a few on tap for the upcoming gift-giving season.

Leave a Reply

