Tova Dress in Soft Corduroy

19 Oct

I’m a huge fan of the Wiksten Tova pattern.  After all, what’s not to love when you have a pattern that requires no adjustments or alterations?  I think I’ve made 3 tops and 3 dresses from this pattern which completely justifies my initial splurge when I purchased this pattern back in 2010.

Last weekend, I made another Tova Dress.  I stepped out of my gray-fabric-comfort-zone and used bright blue thin-whaled corduroy by Robert Kaufman from JP Knit and Stitch.

 

This dress is so comfy and cozy and has proven itself perfect for the fall New England weather.  In fact, this week was a two-Tova-dress kinda week.  I wore my charcoal gray wool Tova earlier this week as well.

For now, this cozy blue dress will reside at JP Knit and Stitch.  If you happen to live in the Boston area and would like to learn how to sew a Tova dress or top of your own, check this out.

6 Responses to “Tova Dress in Soft Corduroy”

  1. Heather October 19, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    Love that! I want one! Looks so soft and that color is great. I wouldn’t have been able to leave it at the store though.

  2. Nina October 28, 2012 at 4:45 am #

    I have some babycord in my stash and have been trying to decide whether to make a Tova dress or a Lisette Portfolio dress – this is swaying me towards a Tova!

  3. rachel October 30, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    wow, i absolutely love this! the tova has been oft-made but this is my favorite one ever! i also *love* that thin wale cordoroy by kaufman. i’ve used it again and again. i wasn’t sure how it would look on my body type, but i have a similar body type to you and it looks fantastic on you. maybe when i’m done nursing i’ll give it a whirl. thanks for the inspiration!

  4. bednarknyc April 22, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    I made a Tova dress in thin-waled corduroy after being inspired by yours (thanks!). I am having problems with the dress sticking to my leggings when I wear it, causing it to ride up when I walk! Did you have this issue? The corduroy just seems to grab onto the leggings. Any suggestions are appreciated!

    • bobble April 22, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      I wear a short slip under my Tova to prevent it from sticking to leggings. I hope that helps!

      • bednarknyc April 22, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

        I will definitely give that a try! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

