Avery Cowl

15 Oct

One of the reasons why I love knitting so much is that I can do it while I’m watching television or reading a book.  Every once in a while, it is nice to come across a pattern which forces me to actually focus on knitting.  The Avery Cowl by Melissa LaBarre  is just that type of pattern. I knit one over the summer using two skeins fo Madelinetosh Vintage in Nutmeg.  I went down a needle size and added an extra set of the 16 row pattern to add to the width of the cowl.  When I first finished the cowl, I was a bit disappointed that the geometric pattern didn’t pop out more, but I have grown to love this cowl.  I love the drape of it.  Now that the cooler weather has hit, I wear this cowl just about everyday. I suppose an apology should go out to my friends and co-workers who have been subjected to seeing me wear this so much!

Since I’ve been wearing way too much, I decided to make another one using two skeins of Osprey in egret.  With the thicker weight yarn, the pattern is much more prominent.

  

 

 

On a recent trip with some of my friends, two of my closest friends were also working on this cowl.  There is nothing better than a little airplane knit-a-long.

Leave a Reply

