Summer Knitting Projects

17 Sep

I have become rather lazy when it comes to finishing let alone posting my knitting projects. Now that we are into fall, I suppose it is time for me to post some of my knitting projects I finished over the summer.  I finally blocked the small pile of completed knitting projects that started accumulating in our guest room.  Here is a run down of my summer knitting projects.

Ginkgo Shoulderette Shawl knit using Madelinetosh merino light.

I knit the Maluka shawl using a cotton/silk lace weight yarn.  This is for my mom.

I doubled up the length of the Tuesday Night Cowl, so I could wrap it around my neck twice.  I used two skeins of Madelinetosh merino in charcoal.

  

I used two skeins of Madelinetosh DK in Nutmeg to make Avery Cowl .  I used a smaller needle size to accomodate the yarn.  I probably could have gown down another needle size, so the pattern would pop a bit more in the finished cowl.

I made a few more pairs of Fetching Wrist Warmers to add to my gift stash.  These were made using Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran.

  

Most of these summer knitting projects will be given away as gifts.

My favorite knitting project this summer was the Rocky Coast Cardigan.  To make the sweater a bit longer, I added a few extra rows.  I knit used Madelinetosh merino in charcoal.

  

The cable pattern gets a bit lost with the variegated yarn.

  

I wish I would have made the adjustments to add a bit of extra room in the upper arms and yoke, but all in all, I still love the cardigan.  This is one summer knitting project that won’t make it into the gift pile.

Over the summer, I picked up the Valiant sweater again and finally finished it.  This poor project had been hibernating for over a year. I’m not thrilled with the results.  It just seems so heavy and unflattering.  I haven’t even bothered to really take photos of it since it has been too warm.  Perhaps once the cold weather hits, I’ll actually wear it.

3 Responses to “Summer Knitting Projects”

  1. caityrosey September 17, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Glad to see someone else decided to make a longer version of Rocky Coast with slightly longer sleeves. That’s what I did with mine as well.

  2. Karen Berthine September 22, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    Wow, you’re busy! Beautiful projects!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Avery Cowl « Night Knitter - October 15, 2012

    […] focus on knitting.  The Avery Cowl by Melissa LaBarre  is just that type of pattern. I knit one over the summer using two skeins fo Madelinetosh Vintage in Nutmeg.  I went down a needle size and added an extra […]

Leave a Reply

