Straight Stitch Society

20 Apr

Have you seen the latest brand from Liesl and Co.?  The Straight Stitch Society has 4 adorable new patterns to accompany its debut line. I was lucky enough to get a sneak peak a few months back when I was sewing up some samples.

I love the versatility of the Change Your Mind Slip Cover Bag.  What a brilliant idea to have three variations with one bag.  You can see all the cool combinations here.

The Apples to Orange Sewing Kit pattern has to be my favorite.   This is a perfect pattern for all of those tiny fabric scraps I can’t bear to throw away.

This photo  of the finished apple sewing kit looks much better than what I could ever have taken! I can’t wait to make one for myself.

H. & J. feel in love with the Feed the Animals Coin Purses when they saw me making these.

  

Dog Coin Purse 

H. & J. hit my fabric scrap drawer and promptly starting picking out fabric for me to make them their own coin purses.

H. wanted a cat, so we she picked scraps from Oliver + S fabric.  She wanted her dog to have ears that could stand up or flop down (like our beloved Kingsley’s ears), so I didn’t tack down the folds on the ears.

  

J. wanted a cat, and picked out this fun fabric combo.

  

For both the dog and the cat, I used vintage buttons.

These are all such fun and easy patterns to make.  Since I am constantly on the hunt for patterns to use to make presents, I think the new Straight Stitch Society patterns will be in heavy rotation during gift giving holidays.

3 Responses to “Straight Stitch Society”

  1. Heather April 20, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    That little sewing kit is just ADORABLE! Love the coin purses too of course!

  2. Kathy April 23, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    It’s enough to make me collect pennies just to use one of those purses! 😉

  3. crista April 23, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Wow I love these purses! Your fabric choices are so great.!

Leave a Reply

