Lisette Diplomat Dress (Simplicity 1878)

1 Mar

The new Lisette patterns have hit the stores, and I quickly scooped one up over the weekend.  Not to sound overly dramatic, but the Diplomat Dress (Simplicity 1878) is my new favorite dress pattern.

I made view C with the 3/4 sleeves using Lotta Jansdotter’s Moira print in deep indigo.  Even though I didn’t bother to match up the print on the front center panels, I think the dress turned out okay.

I love the fit of the dress.  I usually have to make pattern adjustments when I make garments for myself, but I didn’t have to make one change to this pattern. Yet another reason why this pattern has become a new favorite.  Well, I did make one teeny tiny adjustment.  I added an invisible zipper instead of using a regular zipper.  I think it gives the dress more polished and finished looked. I thought adding a yellow zipper would add a subtle pop of color.

I am so thrilled with the results, I cut out view B of the dress last night.  For those of your who work with me or who frequently see me, I apologize in advance.  You’ll be seeing me in different variations of this dress probably more often than you like.

11 Responses to “Lisette Diplomat Dress (Simplicity 1878)”

  1. Marge March 1, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    I just bought the pattern and have been waiting to hear from someone who made it. I can’t wait to get started on mine! I like your print – so it will help me in picking a material.

  2. genevieve March 1, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Love it, Jeanne! It’s the ur dress/shift/tunic of my dreams. I’m still trying to get Simplicity to let us carry the Lisette Patterns. Now that would be a great class…

  3. este March 1, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Oh I wish I was seeing you in this dress more than I’d like! Just stunning. Can’t wait to see the next one.

  4. Cindy March 1, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    It looks fabulous!

  5. crista March 1, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I do love the yellow zipper! Very nice.

  6. Shahar March 1, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    Love it! You should make a version with pockets!

  7. Evie March 3, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    I have a length of green linen that I’ve been unable to match to a pattern for 5 years! Seriously! And then up pops this dress pattern and the first thing that comes to mind is the green linen. I hope it turns out as nicely as your version. I love it. Can’t wait to see more.

  8. Jennifer March 4, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Looks great, another inspiring piece! I love your blog, and have nominated you for a “liebster” blog award: http://enchantedbobbin.blogspot.com/2012/03/liebster-blog-award.html — well deserved!

  9. carrieoke March 30, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    This is SO CUTE! I am totally getting this pattern today. Adorable.

  10. Caroline July 26, 2017 at 8:49 am #

    The pattern is out of print ☹️

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simplicity Sewing Pattern Giveaway! | Sew Sensational ♥ - October 4, 2013

    […] The sewing pattern up for grabs is the Lisette Sew Your Style 1878 dress pattern. You can make the dress in 3 different lengths dependent on your style and can create short sleeves, 3/4 length sleeves or no sleeves at all. I think if it was up to me I’d make mine just above the knee and with long sleeves: perfect for the autumn! I found a great version over at the blog Night Knitter which you can see here. […]

Leave a Reply

