A bit of Knitting

30 Jan

I’ve been doing a bit knitting for others lately while I have been catching up on movies and TV series in my Netflix queue.

As New Year’s presents (otherwise known as “totally belated Christmas gifts”) to two of my super awesome friends, Kelly and Brian, I made them scarves.

Kelly had requested another light-weight scarf similar to one I made her a few years back.  Using one ball of Rowan’s Kid Silk Haze, I made her Petits Trous de Printemps scarf. I love the way it turned out and have already set aside another ball of yarn to start making another one.

For her husband, Brian, I made him a Ric Rack scarf using 5 balles of Million Falls 1824 yarn.   Since they live in San Diego, I went up a few needle sizes, to lighten up the weight of the scarf.

As part of my friend Kim’s birthday present, I made her the Stella Hat using one skein of Madelinetosh Tosh dk.

  

When my mom was visiting for Thanksgiving, she picked out a three scarf patterns.  I just finished the last one this weekend.

This Flounce Scarf was made using one ball of Knitting Fever Flounce.  Flounce is a ribbon yarn where you have to open up the ribbon and knit into the holes. This was a bit cumbersome and really aggravated by carpal tunnel.

For the Trina Scarf, I used one ball of Katia Triana.  Like the Flounce yarn, this is also a ribbon yarn where I had to pull it apart before knitting into the holes.  Since the holes are much wider in this yarn, it wasn’t as cumbersome as the Flounce scarf.

I saved one of my favorite patterns for last. Using two skeins of Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend to knit a modified Honey Cowl.  Since my mom lives in warm climate, I made this cowl thinner and shorter.  There is still enough length to have it wrap twice around her neck.

  

I am halfway through knitting a chunky cowl with plans for another right after.

Leave a Reply

