Nigella Yoga Bags

14 Nov

Inspired by Molly’s yoga bag, I used Amy Butler’s Nigella yoga bag pattern to make two yoga bags to give away.

For both bags, I used cotton sateen decor weight fabric by Joel Dewberry from my stash.

I made some minor adjustments to the pattern to accommodate the fact that I didn’t have quite enough fabric.  I used a different print for the inside of the strap.  I like the little pop of surprise.

I also added 3 extra inches to the length of the fabric and added two button holes for a drawstring closure.

For this bag, I lined it with a print from Aneela Hoey.

I did a test drive with this bag on Saturday morning for a 90-minute Baptiste yoga session. The pockets were big enough to hold my water bottle, keys and such.  If I had one of those super thin, fancy thin mat towels, I probably could have squeezed that in too.  My mom does hot yoga 4-5 times a week, so this bag is heading her way.

For the second bag, I didn’t add the drawstring.

  

I’m donating this bag to my daughter’s school for an upcoming fundraiser.

Hopefully, I can make one for me after the holidays.

Leave a Reply

