Fall Birthdays

19 Oct

September is always a busy time for us: the end of summer, the start of school, classes gearing up at the university where I work, the beginning of weekend activities for the kids, etc. But there are also a ton of birthdays in September and October (including J.’s and mine).  I’ve been trying to knit or sew most of the presents we give.

Now that all the September and early October birthdays have passed, here is a run down of some of the gifts I made:

For my mom, I knit her a biased scarf using silk and linen blend.

For J., I made her a Weekend Travel Bag, so she could use it for our annual Columbus Day trip.  I used decor weight fabric from Ikea and fabric by Amy butler.

  

For my friend U., I made her an Everything Tote bag using more decor weight fabric from Ikea.  She used it on our recent moms-only vacation.

  

For  S., I knit him a hat using some Cascade 220.  S. and I were roommates when my knitting obsession started.  Unfortunately, that resulted in a horrible knit hat and maybe even a scarf.  Hopefully, those was thrown away years ago!

I knit one long and one short Honey Cowl using Madeline Tosh Vintage. I included the short one in my sister-in-laws birthday gift package.

    

And onto the birthday presents for some of our younger buddies.

I. loves the color blue, so I made her and her AG doll matching O + S Popover Sundresses using fabric from Amy Butler.  I finished these a while back.

A week before I.’s birthday, she was over for a knitting playdate with H. Since both girls are new to knitting, I asked them to go through my fabric scrapes and pick out fabric for knitting bags.  The bag for the O+S juggling balls is just perfect pattern for knitting bags.

  

I. picked out a few different prints, but then found the leftover fabric I used for her dress. She turned to me and said,”Oh, I love this fabric.”  I was thrilled to know I chosen the perfect fabric for her birthday present.  After I finished sewing the knitting bags, I used it to wrap the two Popover dresses.

The other knitting bag is for H.

I also made a few letter-number appliqued shirts for some of J.’s buddies (please ignore the water from the iron in the photo below).  This seems to be my go-to present for kids’ birthdays.

 

Continuing on this sewing/knitting-for-others spree, I made a Popover Sundress to be donated to an orphanage in Haiti.  It isn’t too late for you to make one too!

2 Responses to “Fall Birthdays”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cynthia Rowley – Simplicity 2215 « Night Knitter - November 21, 2011

    […] pleased with the way the skirt turned out.  Paired with my brown honey cowl, I couldn’t wait to head out the door for work this morning. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", […]

  2. Massive backlog | Night Knitter - December 31, 2013

    […] been using the knitting bag I made for H. for over two years.  Since she has started knitting in earnest, I thought it would be […]

Leave a Reply

