Crepe Dress Sewn for a Fabulous Friend

12 Oct

We all have times when our plans never seem to go as they seem.   Luckily, when those little mishaps show up in my life, I have the most amazing support from six women. Like many new mothers, I joined a local moms’ group after the birth of my daughter.  It helped to spawn a number of great friendships, but I could never have imagined it would help to produce six of the most amazing friendships I have ever had.  These six woman are smart, witty, insightful, beautiful, caring, and vibrant.  All seven of us are working moms with children the same age.

Every Columbus Day weekend for the past three years, we have packed our bags, boarded a plane, left our husbands in charge of the children, and ventured off to warmer weather.   This year, upped the ante and went international and added an extra day to our annual mom-cation.

   

In preparation for our trip to Tulum, Mexico, the three sewers in our group of seven visited JP Knit and Stich and all decided to make a Colette Crepe Dress for the trip.  Shortly after I finished my dress, we learned that one our of friend’s moms was diagnosed with cancer.  I quickly offered to sew her Crepe dress for her, so she would have one less thing on her plate. Using the Michael Miller and Amy Bulter fabric she picked out, I was able to finish sewing her Crepe dress the day before we left for Tulum.

We wore our matching dresses to Hartwood and enjoyed one of the most phenomenal meals I have ever had. If only, I had better photos to share with you. Next year, I’m bringing a better camera.

I feel pretty darn lucky that we are able to get away and spend this time together. Given flour-soft sand, the technicolor blue of the sea, the beach reading, the snorkeling, the swimming, the eating, the sight seeing, and just plan laughing our butts off, I know we’ll be heading back to Tulum again next year.

3 Responses to “Crepe Dress Sewn for a Fabulous Friend”

  1. Steph VW October 13, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    I spent time in Tulum last May – it is just so serene and lovely. Thank heavens for Mommy groups to see us through. I feel the same about my knitting group, who have, over the years, become a Mommy group.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall Birthdays « Night Knitter - October 19, 2011

    […] J., I made her a Weekend Travel Bag, so she could use it for our annual Columbus Day trip.  I used decor weight fabric from Ikea and fabric by Amy […]

  2. Crepe Dress Workshop Starting on Wednesday « Night Knitter - April 13, 2012

    […]    […]

Leave a Reply

