Pinwheel and Pinata Party

2 Aug

H. turned 6 this weekend.  We seem to have a pretty set formula for planning her birthday parties, so why mess it up with trying something new?  Just as we have for the past 4 years, we held it at the same park with most of the same friends.  We like routine I suppose.

H. informed me early on that she wanted to have pinatas at her party, so we combined that idea with the pinwheel theme I threw on the table. Below are a few of the details of the party.

    

A few months ago, my husband gave me these lovely little pinwheel earrings.  These were the source of the pinwheel-themed party. I sort of ran with it and never turned back.

Part of my H.-birthday-party-planning formula starts out with thinking about H.’s birthday dress.  This year, I made her a Oliver + S Seashore Sundress out of Liberty of London Tana Lawn. For the facing, I used the pinwheel print from Erin McMorris’s Summersault line. The light green buttons are from my vintage stash.  From here, I let the colors of the dress dictate the color palate for the party.

   

I made H. a little pinwheel hair clip with some of the leftover fabric, Wollfliz wool felt leftover from her princess hat, all held together by a vintage button from H.’s great grandmother.

     

For the invitations, I screen printed the text, made tiny pinwheels, and ran the cards through the sewing machine to create a line of green stitches for the pinwheel handle.

I made cupcakes from my favorite cupcake recipe.  J. helped put the sprinkles on while I put in some lovely pinwheel cupcake toppers.  There was a nice breeze the day of the party resulting in all the pinwheels spinning (I reused the birthday banners from her 4th and 5th birthday parties).

For the craft activity, we had another table set up where guests could decorate and make their own pinwheels.  I have a bad habit of forgetting to take photos in the midst of activities, and this party was no different.  I didn’t get a great shot of the pinwheel decorating table.

H. & J. helped me stuff two pinatas (one for the older kids and another for the younger ones).

Using a pinwheel stamp to decorate the goodie bag and the mini whoopie pie party favors, we gave these out to the guests to carry their treasures home.

Lastly, I tried to keep the thank you cards pretty simple.

I still can’t believe how quickly the past 6 years have gone by.  I couldn’t have imagined a better way to celebrate H.  Happy birthday, H!

6 Responses to “Pinwheel and Pinata Party”

  1. bybido August 2, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    What a beautiful party! So many creative ideas :). Happy Birthday to your daughter.

  2. prttynpnk August 2, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    What a pretty girl having a pretty day!

  3. Carolyn August 2, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    What a party! Love all the pinwheels!

  4. Heather August 6, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    The pinwheel theme is so adorable. I especially love the pinwheel in her hair! And of course those great invites!

  5. cate August 10, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    such a lovely theme. happy 6th birthday!!! that pinwheel in her hair with the special button is the coup de grace.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pinwheel Dress + Tunic | Night Knitter - March 5, 2013

    […] H.’s 6th birthday, we threw a pinwheel themed party.  H. was excited to see the Holly paper doll on the cover the  Pinwheel Dress/Tunic pattern. […]

Leave a Reply

