Showering Baby

25 Jul

My youngest sister-in-law is pregnant with her first baby. For the past few weeks, I have been sewing and knitting in preparation for her baby shower. For yesterday’s shower, my fellow hostesses and I decided to throw a white-themed baby shower since the baby’s sex is being kept a surprise.  For part of the shower decorations, I made two sets of white-on-white buntings.  I forgot to snap photos during the shower, but I did manage to get this shot with my phone.

I used three different fabrics for the buntings.  Each one had a white-on-white print.  You can’t really see it in this photo. In the mirror, you can see a reflection of one of the clotheslines we had hanging.  We asked guests to bring something white to hang on two tiny clotheslines. My contribution to the clothesline was a lacy bonnet and baby booties knit using cashmere yarn.

  

The Lacy Bonnet pattern is from Erika Knight’s Knitting for Two.  This is one of my favorite baby hat patterns.  I have so many fond memories of my daughter wearing the one I knit for her while I sat next to her isolette in the NICU

.

The booties were made using Saartjes booties pattern. As a gift, I sewed a few things for the baby. I used a yard of cotton voile and flannel to make a baby blanket

  

Using two prints from Kate Spain’s Central Park line, I made a diaper and wipes carrier.

Using the baby kimono pattern from Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing, I made this tiny kimono top.

With some of the leftover fabric, I made a few burb cloths

.   

Finally, I packaged it all up by making a fabric bucket using fabric by Swanky Swell.

H. also included a small little bird she hand sewed, but again, I forgot to take a photo in the midst of the shower celebrations. I was also able to give my sister-in-law her belated birthday present which included a pair of gray wrist warmers and one of the Everything Tote Bags I made. I have given all of the extra ones I made, so I suppose I should start sewing a few more.  They do make great gifts

.

2 Responses to “Showering Baby”

  1. mel July 25, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    What a perfect little set of gifts! Lucky baby and mommy!

  2. Este July 25, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    So much eye candy! What a great set of handmade gifts 🙂 congratulations to your sister in law.

Leave a Reply

