Summer Weekend Dress in Liberty of London

17 Jul

The summer heat has finally come to Boston, and the Summer 2011 issue of Stitch Magazine has perfect dress pattern to help one stay cool.

There are a number of nice details in the Summer Weekend Dress pattern like the gathering at the shoulder seams and on the back yoke.

 

I always like learning something new in patterns.  In this one, I learned a new technique for sewing elastics in dress waistlines.

I did have to make some minor alterations to the side seams to take out a bit of the looseness in the top,  I probably could have taken it in a bit more, but I was anxious to wear it.

I made this dress using Seymour Poplin by Liberty of London. If you haven’t seen their new Liberty Rocks Collection, be sure to check it out.  There are some really wonderful prints.  So far, the Explosions in the Sky (and not just because I like their music), Mike, Velvet Love, and the Tomary prints are some of my favorites in the new line.  It is probably a good thing that I don’t have a local fabric store that stocks Liberty of London.  If I did, I would surely be kicked out for drooling.

One Response to “Summer Weekend Dress in Liberty of London”

  1. microart July 17, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    This is lovely! I’ve admired your taste in patterns and fabric (from afar – I’ve not posted before), but it seems we also have similar tastes in music. Explosions in the Sky’s ‘The Earth is Not a Cold, Dead Place’ is one of my favourite albums and was on the compilation I made for when I birthed my son.

Leave a Reply

