Mini Knitters

25 May

Last month, I started teaching H. to knit.  H. picked up some really cute Pony knitting needles from JP Knit and Stitch and a pink ball of yarn.

H.’s knitting instruction involved short 5-10 minute lessons with repeated knitting rhymes to help her remember the steps to make a knit stitch. She caught on pretty quickly.

She would knit a row or two every few days.  For her first knitting project, H. made a knit wrist warmer to donate to her school’s auction.

Of course, I put the first bid down, but since I was one of the auction’s organizers, I sort of forgot to check on all of my bids during the event. Luckily, the wrist warmer was scooped up by one of H.’s best friends (as were the cape and the fingerless mittens I made).  Not only did the items I made help raise money for H.’s school, but they all went to people I absolutely adore!

Wanting to do just about everything his big sister does, J. has also been trying to learn to knit.

I can’t wait to see what H. and J. knit up next!

4 Responses to “Mini Knitters”

  1. Este May 25, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    That is so exciting! I love what she made 🙂

  2. carolyn May 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Wow! Look at her go!

  3. Kathy May 29, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Nice work! Another parent and I used to teach knitting in the afterschool program to 3rd graders. It was fun to do and we used the same rhymes that you mentioned!

  4. Christy D June 1, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    My 7 year old wants to learn to knit this summer. Do you have those rhymes? I’d love to have a couple to help him learn!

Leave a Reply

