Class Picnic Blouse

25 Apr

I’ve had Megumi Sakakibara‘s Girl on a Farm in my stash for a while just waiting for the perfect pattern for it.  Then came along the Oliver and S Class Picnic Blouse.  I can’t take full credit for this fabric choice.  I picked out 3 fabrics from my stash and let H. choose which one she wanted for this top.   I am delighted with her choice.

  

This simple peasant shirt was so quick to sew.  I was able to finish it in one evening.  Aside from the ease and quickness of this pattern, my favorite detail is the elastic at the top of the shoulders.  They provide such a nice detail.

For the back yoke, I positioned the farm girl to be right in the center.   I wish I had thought ahead of time to do the same for the front, but I do like the fact that it is like a little subtle surprise.

I tried to coax, H. into letting me make the Class Picnic shorts for her.  After showing her a pair I had made for someone else this weekend, she kindly said she didn’t like to wear shorts. She did wear the Puppet Show shorts I made her last summer at least twice!  I guess I can’t complain too much.  I know my gal is a dress and skirt kind of girl.

2 Responses to “Class Picnic Blouse”

  1. Carolyn April 26, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Really beautiful…your daughter has excellent taste in fabric 🙂

  2. Karen May 6, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    This is beautiful – such pretty fabric and a gorgeous result.

Leave a Reply

