Mara Shawl for a 90th Birthday

7 Apr

One of my favorite yarns is the hand-dyed Madeline Tosh DK.  This superwash merino wool is so soft and wears quite nicely.  One of my closest friends from grad school knit me a Honey Cowl using this yarn for my birthday last fall.  In turn, I used a different color yarn to knit up the same cowl for our other close grad school buddy, and gave it to K. for Christmas.

My grandmother-in-law’s 90th birthday is this month.  I knew I wanted to knit her a shawl using my one of my favorite yarns.  Let me interject with a brief note on my my husband’s grandmother: She is the most gifted crocheter and creates dazzling needlepoint crafts. Over the years, she has made us stunning afghans (one of which H. insists on sleeping with every night), lovely cross-stitched items, and delicate crocheted pillows.  She has also handed down some vintage knitting patterns that once belonged to her mother as well as an amazing collection of vintage buttons.  She is such a creative inspiration.

Back to the shawl: For her upcoming birthday, I knit my husband’s grandmother the Mara Shawl using 3 skeins of Madeline Tosh DK in Calligraphy.  The ruffle at the end should be 4 inches long, but I ran out of yarn, so I cast off at a little over 2 inches.

I do hope my grandmother-in-law loves it.  It is nice to a knitted item to someone who can appreciate the time is takes to knit something.  An added sentimental item is that H. is learning to knit, so we knit a few stitches together in the shawl. We are throwing my husband’s grandmother a small party next weekend, and I can’t wait to give this to her.

For any of my sisters-in-law who may be reading this post, mum’s the word.

One Response to “Mara Shawl for a 90th Birthday”

  1. este April 7, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I love it – the ruffle, the yarn, and the sentimental touch, very heartwarming!

Leave a Reply

