Best Buddy Presents

5 Apr

Spring is a busy birthday season for our family and friends. This year, I tried to get started a bit early by sewing some birthday presents in February. I didn’t manage to make as many gifts as I had hoped. I suppose I got a bit too distracted by the Lisette patterns.

Now that a few birthdays have past, I thought I would post some items I made for two of our favorite buddies.

For my super talented and awesome best buddy from graduate school, I made her a Tova shirt. I find it challenge at times sewing for myself since I am a stickler for items fitting just right, so I rarely sew clothing items for adults. Even though K. leaves on the west coast and I knew I wouldn’t be able to do a proper fitting (not like I even know how to do that), I took a chance and made her a Tova top.

For one of H.’s best friend’s sixth birthday, I made her a Oliver and S Hopscotch Top and Skirt using knit fabric by Michael Miller and quilting cotton from Erin McMorris’s Park Slope line (one of my all time favorite fabric lines).

With the leftover fabric from the skirt, I made matching Popover Sundresses for H.’s and her buddy’s American Girl Dolls.

4 Responses to “Best Buddy Presents”

  1. violaisabelle April 5, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I enjoy viewing all your lovely work, you are very talented. Thank you for taking the time to share, it’s always inspiring. 🙂

    Carol

  2. Erin April 5, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    I love your work too and check your website almost daily. I love to sew for my girls as well and I’m about to embark on my first project for myself. I’m going to try my hand at the Lisette Traveler dress, do you have any tips? about sizing or anything? I noticed I’m going to have to go larger than my usual dress size is that correct? Thanks again for sharing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sewing in a Storm « Night Knitter - August 29, 2011

    […] the long-sleeve version of the dress, I used Scandi Chirp by Michael Miller and leftover fabric for the […]

  2. January Sewing Projects « Night Knitter - February 1, 2012

    […] I also made her a top in a size 8 using leftover fabric from this top. […]

Leave a Reply

