Lisette Traveler Dress

9 Mar

I now have the perfect work dress. Well, perhaps that is an exaggeration, but I do have a nice addition to my work wardrobe with the completion of the Lisette Traveler Dress (Simplicity 2246, view A). When the I first saw the photo on the cover of the pattern, I found it humorous since I have the same yellow Campers on the model.  I’ve been a long time sucker for Campers.  These particular ones were designed to wear while riding your bike.  I don’t think I’ll be wearing 4-inch heels on my bike anytime soon, but I digress.

Back to the dress…for the fabric, I used Heath in black by Alexander Henry.  It reminds me of the cross hatch print in many of Orla Kiely products (yet another designer I gravitate to, and yet another digression).

Some of the details on the dress, like the pocket tucks and the darts, are lost in the print of the fabric.  In fact you can’t even see the pockets at the top of the dress in these photos. I suppose the flip side is that print was very forgiving when it came to hiding any mistakes with my top stitching. Regardless, I do love the flattering cut of the dress.

7 Responses to “Lisette Traveler Dress”

  1. Sarah March 10, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Lovely! I just new you would sew the pattern into something very elegant and wearable!

  2. wendy March 10, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    so pretty! it came out really beautiful & looks so flattering on you 🙂

  3. Sam March 10, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Gorgeous! I love it. Another success!!

  4. crista March 10, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    This came out so amazing! Can’t wait to see it with the yellow shoes!

  5. hilary March 13, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    It’s gorgeous! What size did you sew it in? Did you find you had to go down a size or two?

  6. Kathy April 4, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    It’s beautiful! I love the dress.

  7. Frankie Laney May 11, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Can you tell me how you made the belt and with what products? I love it and the dress.
    Frankie

Leave a Reply

