Tooth Fairy will be arriving at our house

5 Mar

H. has been dying to get a loose tooth since most of her friends have lost their 3rd or even 4th tooth.  For months, she has been asking me every day to check her teeth to see if she has loose tooth.  Last week,when she said that one of her teeth was loose, I just about screamed in excitement, but I wasn’t nearly as excited as she was.  That night after she went to bed, I whipped up a tooth pillow using left over wool from H.’s princess hat and this terrific tutorial. Well, actually, I didn’t use the tutorial, I just used the printed pattern and added another pocket on the back of the pillow.

If you look at the photos of the finished pillow from the tutorial, you’ll noticed should have sewed the magenta felt on the inside of the pillow. Here is a key example of how sewing after working all day in the office cuts into my attention to detail.  I printed this pattern up months ago anticipating H. would get a loose tooth when many of her friends started loosing their teeth.  I haven’t looked at the tutorial on the website since then until just now.

With the placement of the pocket as I did it and the coloring of the felt, H.’s pillow looks as if her tooth needs a lesson in lip stick application.

Regardless, H. didn’t seem to mind.  She pulled out her tooth this morning by herself.  H. loves her new tooth pillow and couldn’t wait to get to sleep tonight.

According to H., the tooth fairy will fly in through the keyhole in her door around midnight.  I’m going to see if I can catch a glimpse of her.

2 Responses to “Tooth Fairy will be arriving at our house”

  1. Sam March 6, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    Adorable! Both your girl and the pillow.

  2. Este March 6, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Oh that smile looks even more lovely with the missing tooth!!

Leave a Reply

