Spring Cape

27 Feb

I’m trying to sew myself into spring. I made the Red Riding Hood Cape from Little Things to Sew hoping it would bring warm spring weather when I finished sewing on the last button–it didn’t work.

I used decor weight cotton and the Roundabout Dot print from City Weekend. I made the cape reversible by sewing two button loops as well as a button on each side.  This is the large size of the cape on my 5.5 year old daughter.

This cape reminds me of one of my favorite items of clothing H. used to wear as a baby. H. wore this capelet constantly since it was so easy to just throw on.

Even though I can no longer carry H. in a well-worn sling, she can dash around in her new cape just as she did when she was a baby.

 

UPDATE: Here are photos of the cape in action:

7 Responses to “Spring Cape”

  1. Jill February 28, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    beautiful! both your daughter and everything you make are just stunning!

  2. cate March 5, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    so cute and so smart to make it reversible… when i make this one, i am definitely doing that. one question: is she comfy in this?

    maybe you’ll get a bit of spring this weekend?!?!?!

    • bobble March 6, 2011 at 12:34 am #

      Cate,

      Indeed we have a bit of spring weather this weekend. H. is quite comfy in her new cape. She ran (jumped, and skipped) around town in it all afternoon and evening. I hope you are getting a bit of spring in New York!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Market Tunic « Night Knitter - March 12, 2011

    […] Tags: JP Knit and Stitch, Lisette, Market Tunic, Robert Kaufman The other week, I felt like I was sewing spring.  I suppose this weekend, I’m sewing for […]

  2. Small Reversible Sewing Projects « Night Knitter - March 16, 2011

    […] fabric.  With the spring weather making short appearances in Boston, H. has been able to wear her Spring Cape a few times and loves it.  I hope this one finds a […]

  3. Seashore Sundress and Family Reunion Dress « Night Knitter - April 14, 2011

    […] though I had enough fabric for the hem facing, I decided to use some leftover City Weekend just for […]

  4. Biking clothes « Night Knitter - September 16, 2011

    […] Cape.  I made this a few weeks back and haven’t had a chance to post post it. H. loved the cape I made her for the spring, so I thought it would be fun to make her another one she could wear […]

Leave a Reply

