Here and There Cabled Scarf

17 Feb

When I first started knitting 7 years ago, I took on the typical beginning-knitter patterns–scarves.  I made used this pattern to knit a scarf for my husband using the crappiest and cheapest yarn.  Being the nice man he is, he has worn it every winter to help keep him warm on his bike commute to work.

As my knitting abilities have gotten better and my eye for discerning quality yarn has improved dramatically, my husband’s ratty old scarf has become an eye sore for me. I was determined to knit him a new scarf.

I picked out a few scarf patterns for him to choose from, and he picked the Here and There Cables scarf pattern by Norah Gaughan published in Interweave Knits Scarf Style.  I used 4 skeins of Cascade 220.

After blocking, the cables are supposed to be spaced out a bit more to, so the purl oval is more distinct.  As I was knitting the scarf, I thought it looked better without the ovals peeking out, so I opted not to block the scarf.

It also hides the rows where I wasn’t paying attention and forgot to add cables. You can totally tell in this photo where I forgot to add a row of cables.

2 Responses to “Here and There Cabled Scarf”

  1. Lauren February 17, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    *Love* this scarf! I have promised myself that I will only buy new yarn after I get through some of my stash!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Knit Hat for Michael « Night Knitter - June 9, 2011

    […] our beloved friend’s birthday, I knit him a two-tone hat using leftover yarn from these two […]

Leave a Reply

