Super Bowl Sunday Sewing

7 Feb

I am not a football watcher. So instead of watching the Super Bowl last night, I pulled out my sewing machine and picked up a Citronille pattern from my growing stack of patterns, and made a dress for H.

I used the Suzanne Citronille pattern and some leftover Anna Maria Horner cotton voile.

The lightness of the cotton voile gives the dress a really nice drape. Even though my French is extremely rusty, the pattern was very easy to follow (thanks to the illustrations and Google translator).

This morning when H. saw it, she was beside herself.  She is already insisting I wear the Tova dress I made using the same fabric this weekend, so we can be twins.  Hmmmm.  I’m not a fan of mother-daughter matching outfits, so I think I’ll have to coax her out of that idea.

9 Responses to “Super Bowl Sunday Sewing”

  1. María February 7, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    It´s adorable, I´m a big fan of this type of dresses and this fabric makes its beautiful.

  2. Meghan Clinard February 7, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I’m dying to know where you got your hands on the Citronille patterns. I absolutely adore her styles and would love to try my hand at one to see how well I can do with my french translations. Did you order them online, or are there any stores in the Metro Boston area that supply them?

    Many thanks, Meghan

    • bobble February 7, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Hi Meghan,

      Thanks for your comment. I purchased them online through the Citronille website. I do wish they had a US distributor!

  3. Heather February 7, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Your comment at the end cracked me up. My mother would sew matching outfits for herself as well as my sister and I when i was little! Love those cute stockings with that dress.

    • bobble February 7, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Heather, I am dying to see photos of you, your mom, and Dawn all dressed in matching dresses!!!

  4. Deb February 8, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Which Citronille patterns do you have and which ones would you recommend? My youngest daughter is going to Paris and I’m compiling a shopping list for her! So any critique on a ‘must get’ pattern would be most appreciated.
    Thanks!

  5. cate February 13, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    gorgeous! the voile really suits the pattern. and of course the tights just add.

    i love their patterns and have been sewing the gretl in mass. 3 in one weekend. but little sizes so that i can stock my nieces with sewing love, too.

  6. Heather March 20, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    This is very nice. I think I should try one of those Citronelle patterns. You have inspired me.

  7. jenifers April 18, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Hi…I love your blog. Did you have the line the dress you made of voile?

Leave a Reply

