Replacement Mittens

27 Jan

Oh snow, when will you go away? We’ve been hit with a ton of snow this month.  It has gotten to the point where we have all come to expect weekly snow storms and weekly school cancellations.  I won’t use this forum to vent on how the snow has been impacting my work productivity and my overall outlook, but I will let you know that it has resulted in threadbare mittens.

I have already mended two  paris of mittens, only for new holes to pop up.  I finally decided it was time to retire my old handknit mittens and make a few new pairs.

To replace my beloved Peekaboo mittens, I modified the pattern and used a skein of Morehouse varigated yarn to make these:

The cuff is a bit too short for me, and the placement of the opening on the left glove is a bit off.  I think I may make another pair out of some extra Ella Rae yarn I have.

Since the peekaboo mittens weren’t ideal for sledding, I made these Peacock mittens.

I added 10 extra rows to the cuff  to help keep my wrists nice and warm.

These should be perfect for the endless amount of shoveling we seem to be doing these days.

 

3 Responses to “Replacement Mittens”

  1. este January 27, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I always think of you when I have my morehouse mittens on! I’m down to two mismatched (though color coordinating) mittens, and have some yarn in my to-do basket ready to go. Hang in there with the snow…

    • bobble January 30, 2011 at 12:37 am #

      Este, I believe I have you to thank for introducing this pattern to me!

  2. cate February 3, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    well, at least you have something to do on these many inside days. it a winter when i probably should take up knitting finally.

    love these beautiful mittens! and, well, definitely useful these days. hang in there, mama!

Leave a Reply

