Race Car Sandbox Pants

20 Jan

For some reason, J. has been begging me to make him new pants.  Every time he sees me knitting, he runs up to me asking if we can make his pants. NOW, and boy, does he really mean now.  There have been a few melt downs involved when I’ve tried to delay the process for my lack of readiness–like I haven’t washed the fabric, traced and cut the pattern and etc…

J. picked out yellow race car buttons and yellow thread for his highly demanded pants.  I coupled these with thin-whaled gray corduroy and Royal Peeps flag fabric and used the O&S Sandbox Pants pattern in the larger size (EIK, when did my baby grow so big?).

I used the flag-printed fabric for the waist band and pocket linings.

Now that J. is potty trained, he prefers pants without buttons, snaps, or ties in the front.  I modified the pattern and took out the drawstring.  In its place, I just used 3/4 inch elastic. I also moved the seam of the waistband to the back of the pants.

He wanted to help out in the sewing process, so I let him help me pin the pattern to the fabric and press the sewing machine pedal a few times.  He also helped me sew on the buttons.  It was wonderful to have him be so interested in sewing!

He loves his new pants and has asked to wear them to preschool these past two days. Luckily, he has another pair of corduroy Sandbox Pants he could wear today.

5 Responses to “Race Car Sandbox Pants”

  1. Sarvi January 20, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Aw, he looks so pleased!

  2. Mel January 20, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I love his face! How fun to have interested and helpful!

  3. crista January 20, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    He is so sweet! The pants look great on him!

  4. este January 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    nice to see some smiles re: mom’s sewing! And he looks so dapper 🙂

  5. Shahar January 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    These look great. I love the pockets!

Leave a Reply

