For upcoming birthdays

17 Jan

We have a number of little girl birthday parties coming up in the next few weeks.  Since I need a bit of a break from making appliqued birthday shirts, I decided to make a few Popover Sundresses to give as gifts.

Sundresses in the middle of winter? Indeed, these work wonderfully as jumpers with a long sleeve shirt and a pair of leggings under the dress.  Once the warmer weather hits, it will make a great summer dress.  They are also super fast to sew.

I made this dress with leftover yardage from this Anna wrap dress.

For this dress, I used fabric from Patti Young‘s Flora and Fauna line.  Since this birthday girl recently received her first AG doll, I also made her doll a matching dress–I just left off the pink ric rack.

This last Popover Sundress is my favorite out of the three.  I used left over Amy Butler and Erin McMorris fabric.

Savri had asked I take a photo of the finished result of my stretch and overlock stitch on machine.  I used a 1/2 inch seam allowance as the Hop Scotch Dress calls for, and then trimmed the excess seam allowance to 1/4.

2 Responses to “For upcoming birthdays”

  1. Janimal, Atlanta, GA January 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I think those are LOVELY gifts. What a great idea to give these for birthday presents. I’ll have to keep this in mind for the parties my daughter attends.

  2. sarvivox January 17, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Thank you so much for posting the photo, going to go see if my machine has that stitch, or something similar. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

