I really haven’t disappeared

27 Oct

I have been rather neglectful this month posting to this blog.  I don’t really have a good excuse other than having the one too many things on my plate.  I suppose this post will be a sort of recap of what I have been working on while after the kids are put in bed.

Aside from the samples I worked on for the upcoming Quilt Market (sorry I can’t post these), I have mostly been working on gifts.

I made these pair of Peacock Mittens last month for a super good friend of mine for her birthday. I used one skein of 3-strand variegated Morehouse Farm yarn in Grand Canal.

Since H. has seen me don my Fetching Wrist Warmers when I ride my bike, she has been asking for her own pair of fingerless mittens.  When it isn’t raining, H. has been riding a tandem attachment to school, so a pair of fingerless mittens were totally in order now that fall has arrived.  I used leftover Cascade 220 yarn and modified this pattern.  Instead of changing over to stocking knit stitch once the cuff was done, I continued the rib pattern.

The color the yarn happens to match one of the earliest scarves I ever made that H. now wears.

And here the gloves, and my gal, in action…

For one of my fabulous sisters-in-law, I made her this potholder as part of her birthday present.

One of my other fabulous sisters-in-law is pregnant, so for most of October, I have been busy sewing and knitting gifts for her baby shower.  I fear in my haste, I didn’t always remember to take photos.  Here is one example: I made two triangle buntings to hang as decorations.  I forgot to take photos of them, but you can catch a glimpse of them here.

I also made LB (as we are fondly calling the latest addition to our family), a baby blanket out of blue and brown flannel print with super soft minky dimple dot in chocolate brown on the back, but I forgot to shoot a photo before the baby shower.

I also made this bib and burb cloth set.  This is one of my favorite baby gifts to make.

For the baby shower, we picked a Little Prince theme, so I tried to make a few items that referred back to the book.

For this Jumbo Elephant, I used two skeins of Rowan Cashsoft Aran, Woolfilz felt from Holland for the ears, and vintage buttons for the eyes.  Now all the boys on my husbands side of the family have one of these elephants.

Lastly, I made this cabled pilot’s baby hat in a lime green from a ball of Cascade Pima Silk.  I used leftover chocolate brown wool for the trim and ties.  This is my favorite baby hat to make.

Like with most of the items I made for LB’s baby shower, it was nice to revisit some of my favorite baby patterns.

One of my sisters-in-law made this amazing quilt based on the cover for The Little Prince.  She stitched in words in French and bought LB a little pale green outfit to match the one the little prince wears.

My jaw is still on the floor.  This quilt is just amazing.

2 Responses to “I really haven’t disappeared”

  1. Sarvi October 27, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Since you no doubt have nothing better to do in your free time than take requests, any chance of seeing a photo of the full quilt? I am very close to drooling at the description of it!

  2. Brynne March 7, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Omigosh yes… The Little Prince quilt looks amazing! A closer look, please!

Leave a Reply

