That Boy Needs Some Pants!

9 Sep

At J.’s request, I am making him more new pants.  Riding on the success of the Sailboat Pants, I made him another pair of Oliver and S Sandbox Pants for the fall and winter.  J. outgrew the 18-24 month version of Sandbox Pants I made him when he was learning to walk.  Since I loved the way they first ones turned out,  I decided to make him another pair only bigger (size 3).  Like last time around, I used wide-whaled brown corduroy.  For the waistband and pocket liners, I used fabric from Rosemarie Lavin’s  Spa line.

To get him really excited about the pants in hopes he would wear them, I added baseball buttons to the back. J. and H. helped me sew on the buttons this morning before we left the house.

J. was excited to try them on. They are still big, but he will grown into them soon enough.

I have fabric cut out to make another pair of Sandbox Pants.  A post will soon follow.

And on a sew-along note: my first post went up today on the Sew, Mama, Sew blog.  Many of the tips outlined on how to attaches sleeves to the armholes, can be used for any pattern with in-set sleeves.

5 Responses to “That Boy Needs Some Pants!”

  1. Virginia September 9, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Very cute! Love the fabric choices and the way they turned out. I think I need to order that pattern to add to my stack of items to make!

  2. este September 9, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    love the corduroy! I can’t get enough of this pattern 🙂 J looks very happy in them, which is nice to see!

  3. Ariane September 10, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Absolutely adorable!…and the boy too 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rocket Boy Nature Walk Pullover « Night Knitter - November 8, 2010

    […] good news is that he does wear the Sandbox Pants I made […]

  2. Race Car Sandbox Pants « Night Knitter - January 20, 2011

    […] pants and has asked to wear them to preschool these past two days. Luckily, he has another pair of corduroy Sandbox Pants he could wear today.   Leave a Comment LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

