Baseball Sailboat Pants

29 Aug

I haven’t tried to sew anything for J. since my last endeavor in the spring ended with a massive meltdown. Lately, every time he sees H. in front of the photo wall (a spot in our dining room H. insists all photos of her be taken), J. will ask me if I have sewn pants for him.   J. outgrew the last pair of  linen Sailboat pants I made him, so he was due for a new pair.

On Friday, I took J. to the fabric store to pick out buttons for another pair of Sailboat Pants. He first picked out some since grampa-sweater-like leather buttons, but then he spotted large baseball buttons.

J. is obsessed with baseball and has been since he was very small, so I was pretty hopeful that he would actually agree to wear something I sewed for him if it had baseballs on them.  Using the same chambray fabric leftover from this dress and red thread for the top stitching, I finished these last night.

I do believe the pants pass J.’s inspection and have been thoroughly approved.

BTW: my son has two baseball alliances to the Red Sox and the Phillies.

3 Responses to “Baseball Sailboat Pants”

  1. emily September 2, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    this is *adorable*! it’s so tricky to sew things that both suit adult tastes and kids’, and i love this solution – the sail boat pants are very dapper, and the baseball buttons are so child-friendly without being saccharine or too as-seen-on-tv-ish. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ice Cream Dress « Night Knitter - August 30, 2010

    […] and S workshop at the Stitch House.  This dress, along with the recent Sailboat Top, skirt, and pants, were all made to help me get ready. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Ice Cream […]

  2. That Boy Needs Some Pants! « Night Knitter - September 9, 2010

    […] pants At J.’s request, I am making him more new pants.  Riding on the success of the sailboat pants, I made him another pair of Oliver and S Sandbox Pants for the fall and winter.  J. outgrew the […]

Leave a Reply

