Sailboat Top and Skirt

28 Aug

Liesl posted a brainstorm she had on the Oliver and S discussion forum earlier this week. The idea was to add a ruffle to the center panel to the Sailboat Skirt or Pants. Since I was starting to prepare for my upcoming workshop at the Stitch House and had fabric cut to start a Sailboat Skirt, I decided to give it a try.

The Amy Butler print I choose is somewhat bold, so I added thinner ruffles to the side panels. I didn’t want the ruffles to compete with the details on the white vintage buttons.

I think the side ruffles are a lovely detail.  You can see a version with wider ruffles using mattress ticking here.

I also made the sailboat top using fabric by Amy Butler.  (I believe this is the sixth Sailboat Top I have made).

Along with J in his jammies, here us H. wearing the skirt and top put together. As Tim Gunn says, I think this is “a lot of look.”

Given the boldness of both prints, I think I prefer them separately to be worn with solids. Luckily, H. will be able to wear this combo to school.

If you live in the Boston area and you want to sew the Sailboat Top and Skirt (with or without the ruffles), sign up for my workshop at the Stitch House now!  The workshop dates are September 11th and 18th.

6 Responses to “Sailboat Top and Skirt”

  1. Jeannine August 29, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Lovely. What a cute skirt. My goodness she has grown.

  2. Este August 31, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Love the Tim Gunn reference 🙂 I love these prints and the ruffle is great! You need to do a virtual workshop next! Good to see J smiling in some handmade attire, too (love those baseball buttons, and I know a few joint phillies/red sox fans out here in AZ!)

  3. cate September 5, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    looooove this detail! she looks so great! wish i could join for the workshop, but i will try and send my friends in the area!

    • bobble September 5, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks, Cate!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to oliver + s > ruffled sailboat skirt or pants - August 29, 2010

    […] and from Jeanne Po (with further details here): […]

  2. Ice Cream Dress « Night Knitter - August 30, 2010

    […] for my upcoming Oliver and S workshop at the Stitch House.  This dress, along with the recent Sailboat Top, skirt, and pants, were all made to help me get ready.   Leave a […]

Leave a Reply

