Portable Knitting

25 Aug

Alas, I have come to the end of my summer vacations.  This past weekend, I left the children, dogs, and husband at home and went to Cape Cod with some of my closet friends.  Since this trip came at the heals of my first week-long solo trip with H & J to Houston and Austin, it was nice to have a short mom-cation.

During both trips, I worked on some Fetching Wrist Warmers.  This is portable knitting at its finest.  Since I used the Magic Loop method for all my circular knitting, I am able to get in a row here and there when I have a few free minutes.  Using one hank of Malabrigo Worsted (color: 35 Frank Ochre), I made two pairs of wrist warmers.  The first one was completed on a return flight to Boston.  The second pair were completed this weekend while I was in Chatham. I think this may have been the first time I ever done a little beach knitting. Miraculously, I managed to keep the sand off the yarn.

For both pairs of wrist warmers, I added a few extra rows here and there to make them just a bit longer in the wrist and to cover a bit more above the knuckles.  I’m planning on keeping a pair for me and giving the other ones away as a gift.

3 Responses to “Portable Knitting”

  1. kimmie September 9, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Those are so cute. I don’t know how to do the Magic Loop way of knitting, but now sure wish I could…as yours are too cute.

    Were you able to bring your knitting on the plane? I was under the impression (from seeing them take some needles from an old woman right after Sept. 11th)-that needles were on the *can’t* list. I hope you could and that next time I can…a flight to Ethiopia is way long and we are thinking about another adoption next year.

    Did you love your mom-cation? I am thinking that sounds so fun!
    xoxo
    Kimmie
    mama to 8
    one homemade and 7 adopted

    • bobble September 9, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

      Hi Kimmie,

      I have flown a ton since 9/11 and have always brought knitting along with me. I’ve never run into any problems. I only bring my knitting needles and yarn and pack my scissors in my suitcase to be checked in baggage. The TSA website specifically states that knitting needles can be brought on a flight: http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/assistant/editorial_1252.shtm

      Yes, my mom-cation was a blast. I have another one coming up!

      Best of luck to you with your 8 (and maybe 9)!

      • bobble September 9, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

        Oh, you could also knit these using double pointed needles. The original pattern directions are written with double points in mind.

Leave a Reply

